Commonwealth Fusion Systems logo

Commonwealth Fusion Systems

PrivateFounded 2018🇺🇸Devens, MassachusettsCEO Bob Mumgaard

Commonwealth Fusion Systems is building commercial fusion systems around high-temperature superconducting magnet technology developed with MIT.

Latest update Oct 17, 2026

01

Overview

SPARC, its fusion-energy demonstration tokamak under construction in Devens, Massachusetts, was about 80% complete as of late July 2026: the first of 18 toroidal-field magnets was installed in January, and a company LinkedIn post on September 22, 2026 said eight of 18 TF magnets are now installed, up from three publicly confirmed in late June. That eight-magnet count is a company social-media figure, not an independent inspection. The September 16, 2026 cryogenics article still describes the dry dress rehearsal as an upcoming commissioning step and does not date it or restate the magnet count. The remaining ten TF magnets now sit on the 2027 first-plasma and Q>1 path after the end-of-summer all-18 target was missed. ARC, CFS' first commercial plant - officially named the Fall Line Fusion Power Station and sited on 100 acres in Chesterfield County, Virginia - became in April 2026 the first fusion project to file for grid interconnection with PJM, and on June 4, 2026 CFS published a five-paper ARC Physics Basis in the Journal of Plasma Physics projecting ~1.1 GW of fusion power and ~400 MW of net electricity. On September 30, 2026 CFS ordered more than 10,000 km (3 GA-m) of HTS tape from Fujikura for ARC plants starting at Fall Line; neither company disclosed contract value, annual volume, first-shipment date, or tape kilometres per ARC machine. Sorbom told Khaleej Times deliveries could begin in one to two years, manufacturing remains at Fujikura's Japan factory, and SPARC contains about 1.5 GA-m, roughly half the new order. Fujikura's Japanese PR restates the 10,000 km-plus volume and capacity-expansion investment but adds no Japan-site capacity in km per year. CFS has also begun monetizing its HTS magnet platform and has signed a potentially multi-billion-dollar long-term magnet supply deal with Realta Fusion. On January 6, 2026 CFS announced a commercial partnership with Nvidia and Siemens to build a SPARC visualization and engineering digital twin using Siemens Xcelerator and Nvidia Omniverse. That partnership is separate from the October 8, 2026 Department of Energy Phase II Genesis selection. DOE said that day that 12 Phase II awards total $159 million and listed the SPARC twin without a CFS dollar amount or period of performance. The Office of Science list names Thomas Looby of Commonwealth Fusion Systems as principal investigator and states that selection for award negotiations is not a commitment to issue an award or provide funding. The selection is not a new SPARC plasma date or a new magnet count. In July 2026 CFS became the first international partner in the UK Atomic Energy Authority's 220 million pound LIBRTI tritium-breeding program. On July 30, 2026 CFS closed $1B more from pension and sovereign-wealth funds (bringing total capital to $4B) and named former Moderna CFO Lorence Kim as chief financial officer.

cfs.energyUpdated Oct 17, 2026

Analysis · 6 min read · Jul 7, 2026The long view on Commonwealth Fusion Systems: strategy, technology and what to watch

02

What's next8

  1. 2026-2027

    Complete SPARC assembly and commissioning

    Close the external cryostat, integrate fuel and diagnostic lines, and complete final commissioning of the integrated tokamak, cryogenic, RF heating, and magnet systems at the Devens campus. The cryogenic plant cleared its own commissioning bar on September 16, 2026, running the full system at the 8 kelvin operating temperature the TF magnets require.

  2. 2026-2027

    Run SPARC's dry dress rehearsal

    Operate the entire SPARC plant - cryogenics, power, RF heating and vacuum systems - under full pulse loads as if a fusion pulse were happening, but without the tokamak itself, to validate the support infrastructure before first plasma. CFS described the September 16, 2026 8 kelvin cryogenic result as commissioning work leading into this integrated test; no date has been published for the rehearsal itself.

  3. 2026-2032

    Move Fall Line Fusion Power Station through PJM interconnection study

    Local land-use approval is already secured (Chesterfield County granted final zoning/conditional-use approval in September 2025). The remaining long-lead item is PJM Interconnection's multi-year (roughly 4-6 year) engineering study and approval process for the April 2026 grid-interconnection request, alongside locking down the final ARC plant design ahead of construction later this decade.

  4. 2026+

    Scale the HTS magnet supply business

    Execute the April 2026 Realta Fusion long-term HTS magnet supply agreement and turn the Type One Energy licensing deal, WHAM magnet supply, and Realta partnership into a recurring magnet business that funds the fusion roadmap before SPARC and ARC reach revenue.

  5. 2026

    Install all 18 SPARC TF magnets

    Finish installing the remaining SPARC toroidal-field magnets in Tokamak Hall. CFS had targeted all 18 by the end of summer 2026, but that window closed with only 3 magnets publicly confirmed as of late June 2026. The remaining 15 now need to go in during late 2026 or early 2027 so first plasma and the Q>1 attempt can still happen in 2027.

03

Latest news9

  1. DOE picks CFS to lead SPARC digital-twin project

    On Oct. 8, 2026 the U.S. Department of Energy named Commonwealth Fusion Systems lead of a Phase II Genesis Mission project to build an AI-enabled digital twin of SPARC, the tokamak CFS is assembling in Devens, Massachusetts. CFS said it is the only private company leading a Phase II award and the only fusion project in this round, with partners including PPPL, LLNL, ORNL, SLAC, MIT, Carnegie Mellon, Google DeepMind, Nvidia, Synopsys and General Atomics. DOE said the 12 new Phase II awards total $159 million; the CFS dollar amount is not separately disclosed, and the Office of Science list states that selection is for award negotiations rather than a funded obligation.

    cfs.energy www.energy.gov www.pppl.gov

  2. CFS places record 10,000 km HTS tape order with Fujikura

    Commonwealth Fusion Systems said it agreed to buy more than 10,000 km (3 GA-m) of high-temperature superconducting tape from Japan's Fujikura for ARC plants, starting with Fall Line in Chesterfield County, Virginia. CFS and Fujikura called it the largest HTS tape order of its kind; Fujikura is expanding manufacturing in Japan and CFS did not disclose financial terms. Chief science officer Brandon Sorbom told Khaleej Times deliveries could begin in one to two years and that SPARC uses about 1.5 GA-m of tape, roughly half the new order.

    cfs.energy www.khaleejtimes.com www.prnewswire.com

  3. Commonwealth Fusion runs SPARC's cryogenic system at 8 kelvin

    Commonwealth Fusion Systems said on September 16 that SPARC's full cryogenic system has run at its 8 kelvin operating temperature, the point at which the tokamak's high-temperature superconducting toroidal field magnets are cold enough to hold a plasma without quenching. The plant feeds three supercritical helium loops at 8, 15 and 80 kelvin and is essentially the same hardware CFS plans to use at its 400 MW ARC plant in Chesterfield County, Virginia. The company framed the result as part of commissioning ahead of the dry dress rehearsal, an integrated test that runs every SPARC support system as if a fusion pulse were happening without the tokamak itself.

    Commonwealth Fusion Systems

  4. Hyundai joins CFS $1B raise for ARC plant talks

    Commonwealth Fusion Systems said Hyundai Motor Group joined its July 2026 $1 billion equity raise, keeping total capital raised at about $4 billion. The investment is the first step toward collaborating on CFS's ARC commercial fusion plant and exploring fusion in Korea under the 7 SEED initiative. Hyundai is a newly named participant in the existing raise, not a separate new round.

    Commonwealth Fusion Systems

  5. Commonwealth Fusion Systems raises $1B, hits $4B total

    Commonwealth Fusion Systems announced on July 30 that it closed $1 billion in additional equity financing from institutional investors, including pension funds, sovereign wealth funds and infrastructure partners, bringing its total capital raised to $4 billion, the largest total of any fusion company. CEO Bob Mumgaard said the funds will finish assembly of the SPARC demonstration tokamak in Devens, Massachusetts, which is about 80% complete, and fund planning for the ARC commercial power plant in Virginia.

    Commonwealth Fusion Systems (PR Newswire) Power Magazine

04

Products2

05

Key metrics

Employees
~1,150
Est. annual revenue
Pre-revenue on electricity

growing HTS magnet supply revenue with Realta Fusion long-term deal (multi-billion potential)

Total Funding
~$4B
SPARC Target Performance
Q ~11 and ~140 MW fusion power
SPARC Build Progress
~80% complete

both vacuum vessel halves in Tokamak Hall; magnets installing

SPARC TF Magnets Installed

8 of 18 as of Sept 22, 2026 company LinkedIn post; remaining 10. Company social-media count, not an independent inspection. No later official blog opened for this patch restated the figure.

ARC Target Output
~400 MW

Fall Line Fusion Power Station, Chesterfield County, VA

Commercial Offtake Secured

Google 200 MW PPA + Eni $1B+ offtake from first ARC plant

Fujikura ARC HTS tape order
More than 10,000 km

(3 GA-m). Financial terms and tape per ARC undisclosed. Sorbom: deliveries could begin in 1-2 years; Japan factory remains the manufacturing site; SPARC has about 1.5 GA-m, roughly half this order. Fujikura Japanese PR adds no contract value or km-per-year capacity.

Genesis Phase II status
Oct

8, 2026 selection for award negotiations, not a funded award. Thomas Looby is PI. Twelve Phase II awards total $159 million; no CFS amount or period of performance is disclosed.

06

Operations & revenue

Operating status

Pre-revenue (electricity); DOE selected CFS to lead SPARC digital-twin Phase II

On Oct. 8, 2026 DOE selected CFS to lead a Phase II Genesis Mission project for an AI-enabled digital twin of SPARC; CFS said it is the only private company leading a Phase II award. DOE announced 12 new Phase II awards totaling $159 million; the CFS share is not disclosed, and the Office of Science list says selection is for award negotiations, not a funded award. SPARC remains about 80% complete. A September 22, 2026 CFS LinkedIn post said eight of 18 toroidal-field magnets are installed; ten remain. On September 30 CFS and Fujikura announced a long-term HTS tape supply agreement of more than 10,000 km (3 GA-m) for ARC, starting at Fall Line. Financial terms, annual volume, first-shipment date, and tape quantity per ARC machine were not disclosed. Fall Line has not broken ground. Total capital remains about $4B.

Pipeline & contracts

  • Google Power Purchase Agreement

    200 MW PPA with Google for electricity from the Fall Line Fusion Power Station (first ARC commercial fusion plant) in Chesterfield County, Virginia.

  • Eni Power Agreement

    More than $1B offtake agreement with Eni for electricity from CFS' first ARC power plant (Fall Line Fusion Power Station) in Virginia.

  • HTS Magnet Supply & Licensing

    CFS is monetizing its superconducting magnet platform through external partnerships, anchored by an April 2026 long-term HTS magnet design and manufacturing agreement with Realta Fusion (potential multi-billion-dollar value) and prior cable licensing with Type One Energy plus magnet supply to the Wisconsin WHAM experiment.

07

Track record

How past announced dates turned out.

0/1announced date hit on time

  • 0 Hit
  • 1 Slipped
  • 0 Missed
  1. Slipped

    Install all 18 SPARC TF magnets

    Target End of summer 2026 · Resolved Sep 7, 2026

    CEO Bob Mumgaard said at CES 2026 that all 18 SPARC toroidal-field magnets would be installed by the end of summer 2026. CFS publicly confirmed only the third magnet hoist as of June 24, 2026, and no company announcement after that window closed showed the remaining 15 magnets in place. The install is still expected ahead of the 2027 first-plasma and Q>1 attempt.

08

Timeline26

  1. 2026

    1. DOE selects CFS to lead SPARC digital-twin award

      On Oct. 8, 2026 the U.S. Department of Energy selected Commonwealth Fusion Systems to lead a Phase II Genesis Mission project for an AI-enabled digital twin of SPARC, the fusion machine CFS is assembling in Devens, Massachusetts. CFS said it is the only private company leading a Phase II award and the only fusion-focused project in this round. Partners named by CFS and PPPL include Lawrence Livermore, Oak Ridge, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, SLAC, MIT, Carnegie Mellon, Google DeepMind, Nvidia, Synopsys and General Atomics. DOE said 12 new Phase II awards total $159 million; the CFS amount is not broken out. The Office of Science awards list names Thomas Looby as principal investigator and states that selection for award negotiations is not a commitment to issue an award or provide funding.

    2. Eight of 18 SPARC TF magnets installed

      On 22 September 2026 Commonwealth Fusion Systems said on LinkedIn that SPARC had eight of 18 toroidal-field magnets installed, up from the three publicly confirmed on 24 June. The company said magnet manufacturing and installation pace continues to accelerate after missing the end-of-summer target to install all 18. This is a company social-media count, not an independent inspection.

    3. Orders more than 10,000 km of Fujikura HTS tape for ARC

      On September 30, 2026 CFS announced a long-term supply agreement to buy more than 10,000 km (3 GA-m) of high-temperature superconducting tape from Japan's Fujikura for ARC plants, starting with Fall Line in Chesterfield County, Virginia. CFS and Fujikura called it the largest HTS tape order of its kind; Fujikura is expanding manufacturing capacity in Japan. CEO Bob Mumgaard tied the order to executing ARC after SPARC reaches Q>1. CFS did not disclose financial terms or how much tape each ARC machine will need. Chief science officer Brandon Sorbom told Khaleej Times deliveries could begin in one to two years and that SPARC contains about 1.5 GA-m of tape, roughly half the new order.

    4. SPARC's full cryogenic system reaches its 8 K operating temperature

      On September 16, 2026 CFS said SPARC's complete cryogenic system has run at its 8 kelvin (about -265 C) operating temperature, the condition the toroidal-field HTS magnets need to confine plasma without quenching. The plant supplies three supercritical helium loops: 8 K for the TF magnets, 15 K for the poloidal-field and central-solenoid magnets and 80 K for non-superconducting magnets, routed through a distribution box. CFS called the milestone part of commissioning ahead of the dry dress rehearsal, an integrated test of SPARC's support systems run as if a fusion pulse were happening without the tokamak, and noted the same cryogenic architecture is planned for the ARC plant in Virginia.

    5. Hyundai Motor Group joins the July $1B equity raise

      On September 10, 2026 CFS said Hyundai Motor Group joined the $1 billion equity financing announced in July 2026, keeping total capital raised at about $4 billion. CFS called the investment a first step toward collaborating on the ARC commercial fusion plant and exploring fusion in Korea under Hyundai's 7 SEED initiative. Hyundai is a newly named participant in the existing raise, not a separate new round.

    6. Third SPARC TF magnet hoisted; summer all-18 target later missed

      On June 24, 2026 CFS published video of the hoist of its third 24-ton toroidal-field magnet into Tokamak Hall, confirming 3 of 18 TF magnets installed. CEO Bob Mumgaard had said at CES 2026 that all 18 would be in by the end of summer 2026. That window closed without a company confirmation that the remaining 15 magnets were installed, so the all-18 install now tracks to late 2026 or early 2027 ahead of the still-stated 2027 first-plasma and Q>1 attempt.

    7. Names former Moderna CFO Lorence Kim as CFO

      On July 30, 2026 CFS names Lorence Kim - who served as CFO of Moderna and helped lead that company's December 2018 IPO - as its new chief financial officer. CEO Bob Mumgaard says Kim's experience taking a deep-science company from research roots to commercial scale applies directly to CFS' mission; the hire is widely read by industry observers as early positioning for a CFS public listing, though no IPO date has been set.

    8. Raises $1B more, total capital reaches $4B

      On July 30, 2026 CFS closed $1 billion of additional equity financing from institutional investors, bringing its total capital raised to $4 billion, about 30% of all capital raised by the fusion industry to date and the largest total of any fusion company. CEO Bob Mumgaard said the funds go toward finishing SPARC assembly in Devens and planning the ARC commercial plant in Virginia.

09

Funding

$3.9Bdisclosed across 6 rounds with a stated amount

Cumulative disclosed raise · dated rounds

$2B$4B2019202120232025$3.9B raised
  1. Seed

    2018

    $50M

    Eni

  2. Series A

    2019

    $115M

    Eni, Breakthrough Energy Ventures, Khosla Ventures

  3. Series A2

    2020

    $84M

    Temasek, Equinor, Devonshire Investors

  4. Series B

    2021

    $1.8B

    Temasek, Google, Bill Gates, Eni, Tiger Global

  5. Series B2

    2025

    $863M

    Nvidia, Google, Morgan Stanley, Temasek, Coatue, DFJ Growth

  6. Additional equity financing

    2026

    $1B

    Institutional investors including pension funds, sovereign wealth funds, and infrastructure/industrial partners; Hyundai Motor Group joined the round on September 10, 2026

All Nuclear Fusion