DeepSeek logo

DeepSeek

PrivateFounded 2023🇨🇳Hangzhou, Zhejiang, ChinaCEO Liang Wenfeng

DeepSeek is a Hangzhou AI lab founded in July 2023 by Liang Wenfeng as a spin-off of High-Flyer. As of 18 October 2026 the live Flash model is DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017, called as deepseek-flash, at the same peak and off-peak prices as the 10 September V4.1-Flash table.

Latest update Oct 20, 2026

01

Overview

The 10 September model card still describes a 552-billion-parameter backbone, 8 billion active parameters during prefill and 16 billion during decode, plus 196 billion Engram parameters. That card and the 17 October 1017 card both show Safetensors metadata of 763 billion parameters. The 1017 card calls the checkpoint a minor update and does not restate the active-parameter counts. DeepSeek's own table lists Terminal-Bench 4.0 at 42.3 using Claude Code and DeepSWE v1.1 at 77.0 using Mini-SWE-V2. This pass found no independent reproduction of those two scores. Vals AI's 16 October Terminal-Bench 4.0 board, which predates 1017, scores DeepSeek V4.1 Flash at 19.70 percent with Mini-SWE-agent. V4-Pro-0813 remains on the API. Search and Fetch opened on 17 October at $0.75 per 1,000 successful requests. DeepSeek says the engine handles hundreds of millions of searches a day and indexes hundreds of billions of pages; those figures are company claims and were not independently checked. Tool-call billing through Harness, Claude Code, and Codex starts at 00:00 Beijing time on 1 November 2026, which is 16:00 UTC on 31 October 2026 because China Standard Time is UTC+8 year-round. A V4.1-Pro launch and the follow-on round targeting about 50 billion yuan by the end of October were not confirmed in the sources opened here.

api-docs.deepseek.comUpdated Oct 18, 2026

Analysis · 6 min read · Aug 9, 2026The long view on DeepSeek: strategy, technology and what to watch

02

What's next6

  1. 2026-2028

    Build out a gigawatt-scale data center in Inner Mongolia

    Deploy proceeds of the ~$7B round into self-operated data centers built on Huawei Ascend chips to serve AI-agent workloads, deepening the domestic-silicon strategy proven by V4's Nvidia-free training run. Bloomberg reported on July 30, 2026 that DeepSeek is developing a roughly one-gigawatt facility in Ulanqab, Inner Mongolia, building part of it itself while leasing additional capacity from other providers, and targeting bringing at least part of the capacity online in late 2027 or early 2028. Bloomberg reported on September 4, 2026 that DeepSeek plans to deploy at least 160,000 of Huawei's next-generation Ascend 950DT chips at the facility for running (not training) its models, which would be among the largest known clusters of Chinese AI accelerators; Huawei's limited production capacity is expected to cap 950DT output in the low hundreds of thousands of units this year, so delivery could take more than a year, and DeepSeek has reportedly asked Beijing to help secure faster, larger allocations.

  2. 2026 and beyond

    Build out the Unitree AI pact into shipped embodied-intelligence work

    Follow through on the August 6, 2026 agreement disclosed alongside DeepSeek's 140.8M yuan (~$20.8M) strategic stake in Unitree Robotics' Shanghai IPO: a pact to jointly develop AI models for humanoid robots, with Unitree giving DeepSeek priority on model-training procurement and DeepSeek favoring Unitree for robots and embodied-AI applications. It is DeepSeek's first disclosed move into robotics, and the shares carry a 36-month lock-up. No shipped joint output has been disclosed yet.

  3. Late 2026

    File for a mainland China IPO

    TargetLate 2026 (filing); 2027 (listing)

    Submit the domestic listing filing reported to be targeted for late 2026 toward a public debut on Shanghai's STAR Market in 2027. Reuters reported on September 9, 2026 that DeepSeek has tapped CITIC Securities to prepare the offering and aims to begin the listing process this year; South China Morning Post said CITIC is one of four underwriters. Deal size, timetable and target valuation are not set. The follow-on raise paused in late July after founder Liang Wenfeng's leaked investor remarks went viral resumed around August 6, 2026, and by late August DeepSeek was finalizing the round at roughly 50B yuan (~$7.4B) and a ~$74B pre-money valuation with returning backers Monolith Management, Shixiang Capital, Tencent and CATL. Sources had expected that raise to close by the end of August 2026; as of September 9, 2026 no public confirmation of a close has appeared, and no IPO filing has been announced.

  4. V4.1-Pro undated

    Launch DeepSeek-V4.1-Pro and close the 50 billion yuan follow-on round

    TargetV4.1-Pro undated; round targeting end of October 2026

  5. 2026

    Start billing Search and Fetch tool calls

    Target00:00 Beijing time on 1 Nov 2026 (16:00 UTC on 31 Oct 2026)

03

Latest news23

  1. DeepSeek open-sources DeepInfer for V4.1-Flash

    DeepSeek published DeepInfer on GitHub under Apache 2.0 on Oct. 20 and said it is the offline inference stack behind its production services. The README supports only DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash, on Nvidia SM100 GPUs and Huawei Ascend 950 NPUs, and it leaves out a KV-cache system, prefill/decode disaggregation, and replica load balancing. The speed charts are the company's measurements on 4 SM100 GPUs for prefill and 64 for decode. The Next Web reported that Bloomberg had not found an independent test of those gains.

    raw.githubusercontent.com thenextweb.com

  2. DHS orders civilian agencies to remove DeepSeek

    The Department of Homeland Security filed a notice on Oct. 19 that the Secretary has ordered civilian agencies to remove DeepSeek and affiliate products, including third-party services developed using DeepSeek implementations, and to exclude Hangzhou DeepSeek Artificial Intelligence Co. from civilian procurements. The notice cites the Federal Acquisition Supply Chain Security Act of 2018 and is scheduled for Federal Register publication on Oct. 20. The notice text does not state a removal deadline.

    public-inspection.federalregister.gov

  3. DeepSeek upgrades V4.1-Flash and keeps the same API price

    On Oct. 17, 2026 DeepSeek upgraded V4.1-Flash to V4.1-Flash-1017 on its website, app, and API. Callers still use the name deepseek-flash, and DeepSeek says the price is unchanged. The company says the checkpoint improves reasoning, coding, agent, and visual benchmarks while shortening task time and output length, and it posted MIT-licensed weights. Its own table lists Terminal-Bench 4.0 at 42.3, up from 31.2, and DeepSWE v1.1 at 77.0, up from 74.2.

    api-docs.deepseek.com api-docs.deepseek.com huggingface.co news.bloomberglaw.com

  4. DeepSeek opens Search and Fetch APIs at $0.75 per 1,000

    On Oct. 17, 2026 DeepSeek opened in-house Search and Fetch APIs. Search is a POST to /v1/tools/search and Fetch is a POST to /v1/tools/fetch. Each successful request costs $0.75 per 1,000, with a limit of 5 requests a second per account. Calls through DeepSeek Harness, Claude Code, or Codex stay free until 00:00 Beijing time on Nov. 1, 2026. DeepSeek says the engine handles hundreds of millions of searches a day; that volume is the company's figure.

    api-docs.deepseek.com api-docs.deepseek.com

  5. DeepSeek open-sources Ascend tools with Huawei support

    DeepSeek said on September 30, 2026 via its official WeChat account that it has open-sourced Ascend-platform infrastructure matching its Nvidia-side stack, including TileLang plus DeepGEMM, DeepEP, TileKernels, FlashMLA and DeepSelect. Phoenix reprints said Huawei's team supported the work and that the companies jointly advanced a 128-card supernode based on Ascend 950. SCMP reported TileLang now lists Ascend 950 support, and DeepSeek's DeepGEMM-Ascend GitHub repository describes a matrix-multiplication library for Huawei Ascend NPUs.

    tech.ifeng.com tech.ifeng.com www.scmp.com github.com + Huawei Investment & Holding Co., Ltd.

04

Products3

05

Key metrics

Employees
~150-200

(mid-2026); doubling headcount across departments underway

Est. annual revenue

The Information reported an annualised revenue run rate of $1 billion as of late September 2026, more than double from under $500 million a few months earlier. Reuters and PYMNTS could not verify independently; DeepSeek did not comment. This is a forward run rate, not $1 billion of booked trailing-twelve-month revenue. The Information separately said first-seven-month 2026 revenue was about 475 million yuan (about $70.7 million).

Valuation
~$52B after the June 2026 maiden round

a follow-on targeting ~50B yuan (~$7.4B) at a ~$74B pre-money valuation was still being finalized as of September 8, 2026, past the end-of-August close sources had expected, with no public confirmation of a close

Monthly Active Users
~130M in China

(QuestMobile, May 2026, published Jul 14 - the most recent published QuestMobile snapshot as of late August 2026); third-largest Chinese AI-native app behind ByteDance's Doubao (~382M MAU) and Alibaba's Qwen (~167M MAU)

China Chatbot Market Share

Third among China's AI-native apps by MAU (QuestMobile, May 2026), behind Doubao and Qwen - the earlier ~89% 'dominant' estimate reflected the Jan 2025 R1-launch spike and no longer holds

App Downloads
~173M cumulative since Jan 2025 (est.)
V4 API Pricing

V4.1-Flash peak/off-peak pricing took effect at 04:00 UTC on September 10, 2026; off-peak rates are 50 percent of peak. Starting 04:00 UTC on September 14, deepseek-v4-pro requests route to V4.1-Flash at Flash rates until V4.1-Pro launches. DeepSeek did not republish dollar amounts on the V4.1-Flash announcement. The prior table (in effect since August 16) listed V4-Flash and Vision-Exp at $0.22/$0.66 off-peak and $0.44/$1.32 peak per million cache-miss input/output tokens, and V4-Pro at $0.66/$1.98 off-peak and $1.32/$3.96 peak

Claimed V3 Training Cost
~$5.6M

(2.788M H800 GPU-hours, per DeepSeek's own Dec 2024 V3 technical report) vs ~$100M+ est. for GPT-4

Employees
~150-200

(mid-2026); DeepSeek announced Jun 25, 2026 plans to double headcount across departments (pre-training data, server engineering, AI search, data-center ops, a new Harness agent team) following its $7.4B raise. No newer official headcount has been published as of September 8, 2026

Annualised revenue run rate

The Information, citing two people with knowledge, said Liang told investors the annualised run rate reached $1 billion, more than double from under $500 million a few months earlier, helped by a 2.3-4.5x model price rise. Reuters could not verify and DeepSeek did not comment. This is a forward pace, not booked FY revenue. First-seven-month 2026 revenue was separately reported at about 475 million yuan. The follow-on round is still described as targeting 50 billion yuan at a 500 billion yuan valuation by the end of October, with no public close as of 26 Sep 2026.

V4 API Pricing

Official table as of 26 Sep 2026: V4.1-Flash (deepseek-flash) cache-miss input/output $0.15/$0.60 off-peak and $0.30/$1.20 peak per million tokens; V4-Pro-0813 $0.66/$1.98 off-peak and $1.32/$3.96 peak. Off-peak is 50% of peak. Peak windows remain 01:00-04:00 and 06:00-10:00 UTC Monday-Friday excluding Chinese public holidays. Flash concurrency limit 2500; V4-Pro 500. Flash is cheaper than the prior V4-Flash $0.22/$0.66 off-peak table.

DeepSeek-V4.1-Pro
Not launched as of 29 Sep 2026

live API models remain V4.1-Flash and V4-Pro-0813

Follow-on 50 billion yuan round
Still unclosed as of 29 Sep 2026

The Information via Reuters 24 Sep still targeting end of October at 500 billion yuan valuation

V4.1-Flash-1017 size

September card: 552B backbone, 8B active on prefill, 16B on decode, plus 196B Engram. Both September and 1017 cards: 763B Safetensors metadata. 1017 does not restate the active counts.

Search and Fetch billing

Direct calls $0.75 per 1,000 successes now. Harness, Claude Code, and Codex tool calls free until 00:00 Beijing time on 1 Nov 2026, equal to 16:00 UTC on 31 Oct 2026.

06

Operations & revenue

Operating status

V4.1-Flash-1017 live; DeepInfer open under Apache 2.0

On Oct. 20 DeepSeek published DeepInfer, which it says is the offline inference framework behind production serving for V4.1-Flash, under Apache 2.0. It targets Nvidia SM100 GPUs and Huawei Ascend 950 NPUs and leaves out KV-cache management, prefill/decode disaggregation, and replica load balancing. Throughput figures are company measurements on 4 and 64 SM100 GPUs, and no independent reproduction was found in the pages opened. The Oct. 19 DHS civilian-exclusion notice still stands. That notice did not state a removal deadline, and Federal Register publication was scheduled for Oct. 20.

Revenue streams

  • API platform

    Usage-based, per-token access to the V4 family via OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible endpoints, now billed on official peak/off-peak rates (weekday peak windows 01:00-04:00 and 06:00-10:00 UTC) that took effect August 16, 2026.

  • Consumer chatbot (free)

    The DeepSeek app and chat.deepseek.com are free - a deliberate user-growth strategy that leaves the API as the primary revenue source for now.

07

Track record

How past announced dates turned out.

1/2announced dates hit on time

  • 1 Hit
  • 1 Slipped
  • 0 Missed
  1. Hit

    Ship the official DeepSeek-V4 release

    Target Aug 2026 · Resolved Aug 12, 2026

    DeepSeek shipped V4-Pro-0813 to general availability across app, web and API on August 12, 2026, graduating it out of preview with a 1 million-token context window, up to 384,000-token output and a focus on agentic tool-use and multi-step workflows. New peak/off-peak API pricing took effect August 16, 2026, raising V4-Pro's peak output price to $3.96 per million tokens from the prior flat $0.87 rate.

  2. Slipped

    Ship the official DeepSeek-V4 release

    Target Jul 2026 · Resolved Aug 1, 2026

    The mid-July 2026 target for a full V4 GA passed without one. On July 31, 2026 DeepSeek put only a retrained V4-Flash-0731 API into public beta (outperforming the V4-Pro preview on nine published agent/coding benchmarks), while the V4-Pro API and the app/web models were unchanged. Chinese tech media reported the complete rollout, including peak/off-peak pricing, sliding to a possible August 10-20, 2026 window tied to closed testing of DeepSeek's new 'Harness' agentic coding tool.

08

Timeline28

  1. 2026

    1. Open-sources DeepInfer for V4.1-Flash

      On Oct. 20 DeepSeek published DeepInfer under Apache 2.0 for offline inference of V4.1-Flash on Nvidia SM100 GPUs and Huawei Ascend 950 NPUs. The release omits KV-cache management, prefill/decode disaggregation, and replica load balancing. The published speed charts are the company's own.

    2. DHS orders civilian agencies to remove DeepSeek

      On Oct. 19, 2026 DHS filed notice that the Secretary ordered civilian agencies to remove DeepSeek and affiliate products, including third-party services developed using DeepSeek implementations, and to exclude Hangzhou DeepSeek Artificial Intelligence Co. from civilian procurements. Federal Register publication is scheduled for Oct. 20. The notice does not state a removal deadline.

    3. 1017 scores stay company-run; search billing clock is set

      On 17 October 2026 DeepSeek posted V4.1-Flash-1017 weights and listed Terminal-Bench 4.0 at 42.3 and DeepSWE v1.1 at 77.0. No independent reproduction of those two scores was found. Vals AI's 16 October board, using Mini-SWE-agent, scored the prior V4.1 Flash name at 19.70 percent. Search and Fetch tool calls through Harness, Claude Code, and Codex stay free until 00:00 Beijing time on 1 November 2026, equal to 16:00 UTC on 31 October 2026.

    4. Opens Search and Fetch APIs

      On Oct. 17, 2026 DeepSeek opened in-house Search and Fetch APIs at $0.75 per 1,000 successful requests, with a limit of 5 requests a second per account. Calls through DeepSeek Harness, Claude Code, or Codex stay free until 00:00 Beijing time on Nov. 1, 2026. DeepSeek says the engine handles hundreds of millions of searches a day.

    5. Upgrades V4.1-Flash to the 1017 checkpoint

      On Oct. 17, 2026 DeepSeek upgraded V4.1-Flash to V4.1-Flash-1017 on the web, app, and API. Callers still use deepseek-flash at the same price. The company posted MIT-licensed weights and said task time and output length fell. Its table lists Terminal-Bench 4.0 at 42.3, up from 31.2, and DeepSWE v1.1 at 77.0, up from 74.2.

    6. Open-sources Ascend TileLang stack with Huawei support

      On September 30, 2026 DeepSeek said on WeChat that it open-sourced Ascend-platform infrastructure matching its Nvidia-side tools: TileLang plus DeepGEMM, DeepEP, TileKernels, FlashMLA and DeepSelect. Phoenix reprints said Huawei's team supported the work and that the sides jointly advanced a 128-card supernode based on Ascend 950. DeepSeek's DeepGEMM-Ascend GitHub repository describes a matrix-multiplication library for Huawei Ascend NPUs.

    7. Keeps V4-Pro on the API after reversing the Sept 14 retirement

      Official API docs dated 10 Sep 2026 say DeepSeek will continue providing API services for DeepSeek V4 Pro after 14 Sep 2026, with billing unchanged, reversing the V4.1-Flash launch post that had said all deepseek-v4-pro requests would route to Flash at Flash rates from 04:00 UTC on 14 Sep until V4.1-Pro launches. The live pricing table still lists deepseek-v4-pro (V4-Pro-0813) beside deepseek-flash. V4-Flash and V4-Flash-Vision-Exp remain retired aliases. No V4.1-Pro date has been announced.

    8. Publishes DSec agent-training sandbox paper

      DeepSeek posted an arXiv systems paper on DeepSeek Elastic Compute, a production sandbox platform with FnCall, container, microVM and full-VM backends. The paper says a production unit of about 160 nodes serves about 3 million sandboxes a day, more than 380,000 concurrent sandboxes and more than 5,000 sandbox creations per second. Bloomberg reported the disclosure on September 25. The figures are DeepSeek's own; the paper is not an open-source release.

09

Funding

$14.4Bdisclosed across 2 rounds with a stated amount

  1. Internal funding (High-Flyer)

    2023–2026

    Undisclosed (wholly funded by High-Flyer)

    High-Flyer / Liang Wenfeng (84% founder stake as of May 2024)

  2. Maiden external round

    Jun 2026

    ~$7B at ~$52B valuation

    Tencent, CATL, JD.com, NetEase, Monolith, Loyal Valley Capital, China's National AI Industry Investment Fund; ¥20B from Liang Wenfeng

  3. Follow-on (resumed)

    Jul-Aug 2026

    ~50B yuan (~$7.4B) at a ~$74B pre-money valuation; DeepSeek paused signing of new agreements on Jul 25, 2026 after founder Liang Wenfeng's leaked investor remarks went viral, then reopened the round around Aug 6, 2026 and by late August was finalizing the raise with returning backers Monolith Management, Shixiang Capital, Tencent and CATL. Sources had expected a close by the end of August 2026; as of September 8, 2026 no public confirmation of a close has appeared

    Monolith Management, Shixiang Capital, Tencent, CATL

All AI Labs